Support for opus codec [#9896]

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

fellow
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:43 pm

Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by fellow » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:27 pm

The new opus codec was recently ratified by the IETF. It is open-source and royalty-free.
It boasts an impressive featureset and claims better quality and compression than other codecs.
See http://opus-codec.org/ for more details.

Any chance for support in mediamonkey?

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Support for opus codec

Post by rovingcowboy » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:49 pm

yeah theres a chance but how big of one is the question? it depends on when they get the time to check the new codec out
and see what it takes to add it in with the others. see how many people really want to use that new one. see if it is going to cause trouble for mm program code if they add it. might be one to five program updates before they get it in if they even put it in. so thats the chance hope its the answer you wanted. 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.


NewRaven
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:01 pm

Re: Support for opus codec

Post by NewRaven » Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:53 pm

+1

There are very few audio players which support opus currently (only the latest (dev) versions of foobar and AIMP under Windows, afaik), and there is now user friendly way to convert files to opus, as far as I know for windows users at all. However, all big browser developers support that new standard (and partially have already implemented support) so I would assume some users would love early support for opus.

DerRuhri

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by DerRuhri » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:33 pm

I second the request for OPUS support.

Actually, it's amazing to see at what breathtaking speed other products are taking up support for OPUS.

VLC http://www.videolan.org has added it in version 2.0.4

foobar2000 http://www.foobar2000.org has added it 2 versions back (version 1.1.14) in September

libavcodec in http://www.ffmpeg.org has added it in version 1.0 (actually, rumour has it, that the added support for OPUS was one of the reasons to call it "1.0")

libavcodec in http://www.libav.org will add it in "Plain 9" (currently in beta2)

Firefox from http://www.mozilla.org will add it in FF17 on November, 20 (currently in beta3)

Please note, that all these players and libraries will allow to encode/decode/convert fo/from OPUS.
Some of them directly compete with MediaMonkey functionality-wise.
And all of them are absolutely free.

TSJNachos

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by TSJNachos » Sun Oct 28, 2012 6:30 pm

+1

Don't forget to add Rockbox to that list. I can't quite seem to find a user-freindly way to insert ReplayGain, though. Hopefully MediaMonkey will be able to add RG if/when they add support.

The Hated
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:13 pm

REQUEST: OPUS format support!!!

Post by The Hated » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:19 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opus_%28audio_format%29

OPUS format is such a great format, better than mpo3 and aac, basically the best lossy format, its becoming quite poplar and media monkey doesnt support it ;/ iod love to encode my library in opus via media monkey but im stuck using foobar2000, could we have this implemented? been a mediamonkey user for years now, just a request here :D
Last edited by Lowlander on Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Merged with existing post

Cathryne

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by Cathryne » Fri May 17, 2013 4:03 pm

This and BitTorrent support for podcast feeds would make me pay for another MM upgrade. Please implement these 2 :-) MM works great for my regular podcast feeds and an iPod Shuffle, but for OPUS & BitTorrent podcasts, I have to use Miro, which is pretty slow :-/

pwwaring
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by pwwaring » Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:32 pm

+1

REIKA
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:32 am
Location: Osaka , Japan

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by REIKA » Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:56 am

in_ffsox
http://in-ffsox.sourceforge.net/
I've been using it for playing m4a(aac,alac) and opus.

But opus tagging is unsupported.

For the encoding, I think MM should support to use command line encoder.
Win10 64bit , MM4.1 Gold , Japanese Lang files
dsp_vst + iZotope Ozone + out_asio , Magic Nodes , Minilyrics
MM Japanese Wiki : http://mediamonkey.xn--m8jfw.jp/index.php?FrontPage

Guest

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by Guest » Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:56 am

I wish to add another vote for this request.

argon

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by argon » Sat Mar 07, 2015 5:13 am

I recently started trying out mediamonkey and I'm gobsmacked that the app doesn't support opus. I'm able to encode to opus with the help of other music managers or via command line, but I can't even play them in mediamonkey. Opus is a royalty free codec and it's from the same stable as flac, so what's the problem?

telliott
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by telliott » Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:22 pm

I just ran across this codec when someone sent me some files using opus. I immediately thought of Bloom County lol. Berkeley Breathed should get behind this since he's come out of retirement.

I was disappointed to find out that MM couldn't play the files and there was no plugin to add support. Most of the posts requesting support are from 2012. It seems like the developers have just ignored the requests :(

dharmaturtle
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:04 pm

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by dharmaturtle » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:16 am

Youtube now uses opus as its backing audio codec, so I'm a bit peeved that I can't play my Youtube artists.

transcodes, I'm not going to re-encode an already transcoded audio stream.

jiri
Posts: 5346
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Support for opus codec [#9896]

Post by jiri » Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:28 am

Opus support is planned to be released quite soon, probably as a part of MM5.

Jiri

Post Reply