MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

debio
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Texas

MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by debio » Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:07 pm

Setup is Win8, NVidia Geforce 560 Ti, two monitors (primary 1920x1080, secondary 1280x1024, secondary is right of primary). No third party multi-monitor management programs.

One of the new features in Win8 is that I can set my taskbar to only show applications on its monitor (right click on taskbar -> Properties -> "Show taskbar buttons on: Taskbar where window is open") (note that this does not affect the system tray). Essentially, my primary and secondary monitors have separate taskbars, and an application only appears on the taskbar for the monitor it's currently placed on.
(EDIT: When this is turned on, taskbar icons also switch monitors with their respective windows.)
When I move MM to my secondary monitor, its taskbar icon doesn't move - it stays on the primary monitor. Occurs with both skinned and non-skinned, and both the stable release and build 1617.

Let me know if a screenshot or video would make this clearer.
Last edited by debio on Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by rovingcowboy » Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:24 pm

Windows 8 is controlling where the icon is at and since you opened it on monitor 1 and moved programs shell to monitor 2 windows is keeping its icon on the monitor 1. If you open it on 2 does the icon show up on 1 when you move from 2 to 1?

And so do other programs move tray icons from 1 to 2 ?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

debio
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Texas

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by debio » Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:29 pm

rovingcowboy wrote:Windows 8 is controlling where the icon is at and since you opened it on monitor 1 and moved programs shell to monitor 2 windows is keeping its icon on the monitor 1. If you open it on 2 does the icon show up on 1 when you move from 2 to 1?
Not sure what you mean. If I launch MediaMonkey.exe from an explorer window on monitor 2, MM still appears on monitor 1.
rovingcowboy wrote:And so do other programs move tray icons from 1 to 2 ?
Yes. If I open an application and drag it from monitor to monitor, the taskbar icon switches monitors with it.
Note that I'm talking about taskbar icons, not tray icons. There is only one system tray, and it's on the primary monitor. No problems there.

Lowlander
Posts: 45912
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:18 pm

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

debio
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Texas

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by debio » Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:30 pm

This bug is tremendously irritating. Would it help if I made a video showing the behavior?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Sep 07, 2013 3:44 pm

debio wrote:This bug is tremendously irritating. Would it help if I made a video showing the behavior?
Nope, the issue is already reported as per the above link.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

paulmedia
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:42 pm

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by paulmedia » Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:51 pm

Hi @Lowlander and @nohitter151, I'm having the same issue in version 4.13.1801. It's been three years on this bug. Any update?
Thanks

Peke
Posts: 12212
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by Peke » Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:20 pm

I'm Unable to replicate issue on Windows 10, When MMW Window is on Second monitor TaskBar icon also goes thare.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

kingpin003

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by kingpin003 » Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:49 am

Currently on Win10 and the taskbar icon does not follow from monitor 1 to 2.

Peke
Posts: 12212
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by Peke » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:11 pm

Are you sure that you enabled all desktop icons show on all desktops?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

pstiefel
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:35 am

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by pstiefel » Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:05 am

Hi!
I am experiencing the exact same problem. It has been there for years and it is still in build 4.1.13.1801.
It might be a minor issue, but it is getting really annoying over time.
Please fix this bug!

Windows 8.1 PC.
I've got a 3 monitor setup here.
I'm 100% sure the Taskbar option "Show taskbar buttons on: ...where window is open" is active.
I usually put the MediaMonkey window on my third monitor.
The taskbar button stays on monitor 1 most of the time. It sometimes (rarely) moves to monitor 2, but it never shows on monitor 3 where it should be.
Absolutely all other programs' taskbar buttons are always displayed on the correct monitor. It is only MediaMonkey that's having this issue.

If you need any further info, I'll be happy to assist you.


@peke:
Are you sure that you enabled all desktop icons show on all desktops?
I do not want the taskbar button to show on all monitors. It should be only on the monitor where the window is.

Peke
Posts: 12212
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by Peke » Wed Aug 17, 2016 8:51 pm

Unfortunately MMW do not control that it is system related and how MMW window is detected.

Try non skinned version of MMW.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

pstiefel
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:35 am

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by pstiefel » Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:52 am

Peke wrote:Try non skinned version of MMW.
The problem exists with the non-skinned version as well. - But it is not as bad.
If I move MMW to another monitor, the taskbar buttons still does not move to the other monitor. Only if I minimize/maximize MMW once on the new monitor, the taskbar button moves to the correct monitor.
This is much better than with the skinned version, but non-skinned looks not as good.

pstiefel
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:35 am

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by pstiefel » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:31 am

pstiefel wrote:The problem exists with the non-skinned version as well. - But it is not as bad.
This issue continues to happen with the Non-Skinned-Version pretty frequently (multiple times per day). It would be great if you could fix this issue in a future version of MM.

Peke
Posts: 12212
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Taskbar Icon Won't Leave Primary Monitor

Post by Peke » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:42 pm

Hi,
This should be addressed and already fixed in MM5.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply