ASIO for v3 ?

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

jaynyc
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:47 pm

ASIO for v3 ?

Post by jaynyc » Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:30 am

I had ASIO working _fairly_ reliably under v2. What are the recommended instructions to get ASIO under v3?

jaynyc
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:47 pm

Post by jaynyc » Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:43 am

<bump? ?

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Big_Berny » Thu Dec 06, 2007 6:33 am

Hi jaynyc,
I just used otachan's ASIO-dll and copied it in the plugins-folder. After that I could just select that outplut-plugin in the options.

You can get the dll here: http://otachan.com/out_asio(dll)_067.7z (you have to use 7zip or Winrar to extract that file)

By the way: Why so you want to use ASIO? The audio-quality isn't supperior the deley is just shorter which has no effect on the quality...
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

BillieTheVision
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 1:44 pm

Post by BillieTheVision » Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:08 pm

Big_Berny wrote:By the way: Why so you want to use ASIO? The audio-quality isn't supperior the deley is just shorter which has no effect on the quality...
I thought this was the reason to use ASIO? Superior audio-quality...

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Big_Berny » Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:31 pm

Theoretically it may sound a bit better, yes. But in practice you won't notice it under normal circumstances. The real improvement of ASIO is that the delay of the sound is much smaller so it's used by DJs for example.
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

Whiznot
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:09 am
Location: Albany, GA USA
Contact:

Post by Whiznot » Fri May 02, 2008 7:25 pm

ASIO bypasses resampling by Kmixer in Windows XP if it is supported by the sound drivers. Kmixer degrades sound.

REIKA
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:32 am
Location: Osaka , Japan

Post by REIKA » Fri May 02, 2008 8:44 pm

If you only want to bypass kernel-mixer, out_ks363.dll allows you to do it, too.
In my PC, this is steadier than out_asio.dll.
Win10 64bit , MM4.1 Gold , Japanese Lang files
dsp_vst + iZotope Ozone + out_asio , Magic Nodes , Minilyrics
MM Japanese Wiki : http://mediamonkey.xn--m8jfw.jp/index.php?FrontPage

jaynyc
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:47 pm

Post by jaynyc » Fri May 02, 2008 9:13 pm

where do we get out_ks363.dll ?

i found that out_asio(exe).exe is not very stable - and when mediamonkey crashes this process remains running and i must manually kill it or mediamonkey won't play music when it restarts.

REIKA
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:32 am
Location: Osaka , Japan

Post by REIKA » Fri May 02, 2008 11:07 pm

Win10 64bit , MM4.1 Gold , Japanese Lang files
dsp_vst + iZotope Ozone + out_asio , Magic Nodes , Minilyrics
MM Japanese Wiki : http://mediamonkey.xn--m8jfw.jp/index.php?FrontPage

Post Reply