Sliding Horizontal Scroll Bar [3546] & Now Playing Colum

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

GargantulaKon

Sliding Horizontal Scroll Bar [3546] & Now Playing Colum

Post by GargantulaKon »

Hello all! Let me introduce myself. I am new to MediaMonkey. I have been using Windows Media Player since I have started using a computer. It had probably been more than 15 years. I have WMP 11, the latest version. I have been able to put up with it for a long time. Now, I am trying to get serious about organizing my ID3 tags for another program that reads ID3 tags. I noticed that the way that WMP added tags for ratings is not standardized. I think that it adds, "Rating WMP" to the metadata of the files. I also noticed that whenever I updated the "tag" information in WMP it did not update the official ID3 tag. I noticed it when I was updating my tags with Mp3tag 2.39.

List of reasons I switched from WMP 11:
  1. Does not update the ID3 tags instantly. I just tested MediaMonkey and checked it alongside Mp3tag and MediaMonkey updates the tag immediately! Yes!!!
  2. It is hard to add specific and find album art
  3. The official ratings tag is not added.
  4. It has a Play bug (when I right-click on the file and click on "Play") so that when I edit the fields in the Now Playing list, it is not updated but instead goes back to the old tag info. I have to edit it again in order to update it. One work-around I found is to make sure to add the tracks by selecting "Add to Now Playing". Big bug that I cannot believe got past beta and Microsoft does not update WMP!
  5. When I change the genre tag, it sometimes switches back to "Other" by itself after it is done playing.
  6. The columns are different in every single view and one has to change them in every single different view.
  7. Microsoft does not fix Windows Media Player 11
I am liking MediaMonkey so far in terms of how much I can do.

Bugs: