Filter Nodes [MM3] - view your Filters as Nodes

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Filter Nodes [MM3] - view your Filters as Nodes

Post by DaledeSilva » Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:45 pm

Do you not need the complexity of the Library node and just want to see all your music by clicking on the first node (and navigate with the trackbrowser/search like in itunes)? Do you want to set up your filters but then be able to access them by having a separate node for each?

The new filters in MediaMonkey 3 work well. They let you define subsets of music that you would like to group together when browsing (not unlike separate databases). The only problem is that you have to right click on the Library node each time you want to see a new filter.

Filter Nodes creates main nodes with the same names as your filters. Simply click on these nodes and MediaMonkey willl activate that filter and show you the all tracks associated with it.

- you don't need to expand the node to then click on the "Artist" node
- because each view uses a different filter, it remembers your view settings.. so each of these nodes can have different columns set up!



Setting up Subnodes:
If one of your filters can be divided up into more categories, you can created subnodes off them by setting up another filter with a certain naming convention:
If you main node is named
My Music
Then you can create a subnode by naming another filter
My Music -- subnode name
(The important thing is to divide it with 2 consecutive hyphens)


Using Keywords for assistance:
Filter Nodes also gives some assistance with certain keywords.
At the moment, these include "Albums" and "Non-Albums"
Extending on the example above, you could name a filter
My Music -- Albums
(giving it the same criteria as My Music) and it would only show songs in which the Album Name is defined.
(the reason this has been included is because currently, it is complicated in MM3 to create a filter which does this)

The keyword "Non-Albums" doesn't restrict the tracks, it simply makes the "default" sort order Artist then Title.
(restricting the tracks to only songs without albums can be done by including the criteria within your filter;
Album is Unknown


Options (accessed through tools/options/"Filter Nodes Settings"):

- hide / unhide the Library
- auto expand playlist node on startup
- expand main filter nodes on startup
- alternative icons for now playing & library
- keyword assistance



Hope you all like the script.
Dale.


bugs:
- currently the trackbrowser doesn't work properly with "script created nodes" and the album art views - this bug has already been fixed and should affect upcoming MM releases

feature additions:
- in a future release, MM3 will support changing the view mode via script.. at which point a new release of Filter Nodes will remember view modes for each filter node.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:17 am

Dale:

This looks like a powerful script, however I get the following error when trying to select a node. BTW, it's fuzzy like that because that message just keeps flashing:

Image

Also, once I rebooted MM it just locked up on me and I had to close it. Any ideas??

Nyn

EDIT: A reboot of Windows fixed my errors, now I will continue to check out this scipt. 8)
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:44 am

nynaevelan wrote:Dale:

This looks like a powerful script, however I get the following error when trying to select a node. BTW, it's fuzzy like that because that message just keeps flashing:

Also, once I rebooted MM it just locked up on me and I had to close it. Any ideas??

Nyn

EDIT: A reboot of Windows fixed my errors, now I will continue to check out this scipt. 8)
Hi nynaevelan, sorry you had to experience that!
Unfortunately, at the moment, if there's an error in the sql it will do that..

the error you had in your sql was that there was no sql (show ALL tracks) and I hadn't allowed for that.
Your other nodes should work.. but don't click on "Show all tracks" until I release the a new version to fix it.

Dale.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:52 am

Dale:

Ironically enough I never use that one, but of course that was the first one listed when I first implemented your script. But now that I have implemented the subnodes, it no longer shows in the list.

BTW this is awesome, it is a perfect compliment to my nodes in the My Custom Nodes scipt. :P

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:43 pm

Dale:

Any idea why the Filter Nodes are displaying in the opposite as how they are positioned natively in MM? For example in MM, they are:

Album Art
Audiobooks
Podcasts

But in FN, they display as:

Podcasts
Audiobooks
Album Art

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

bluegimme

Post by bluegimme » Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:10 pm

Great script. I don't use filters that much, but this script has me using them a lot more. Is there any way to have the filter views collapse into one expandable node? I have a bunch of filter views now and they're taking up a lot of space. Great script.

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Filter Nodes [MM3] - view your Filters as Nodes

Post by nynaevelan » Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:13 pm

Bluegimme:
DaledeSilva wrote:
Setting up Subnodes:
If one of your filters can be divided up into more categories, you can created subnodes off them by setting up another filter with a certain naming convention:
If you main node is named
My Music
Then you can create a subnode by naming another filter
My Music -- subnode name
(The important thing is to divide it with 2 consecutive hyphens).
It works like a charm.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

bluegimme

Post by bluegimme » Mon Mar 17, 2008 4:23 pm

Ah-ha! I read that but didn't understand exactly what it was about. Thanks for the flashlight. So, I've created a "false" filter view that is the "folder" name and then added that folder name to the beginning of every filter I want in it. This gives me what I was looking for.

Davo
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Davo » Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:34 pm

Dale - Just downloaded your script & extracted the .mmip file. I don't know why but i can't seem to open .mmip files at the moment. My system just locks up. I had the same problem with one of Bex's scripts & had to install it manually. I'll have to do the same with yours.

Should your script be copied to MM Scripts or Auto

David

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:52 pm

yep
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

Davo
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Davo » Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:11 pm

Dale - Is that "yep" Scripts or "yep" Auto.

David

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:55 pm

It's yep to Auto.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:31 am

Davo wrote:Dale - Is that "yep" Scripts or "yep" Auto.

David
isn't it frustrating when you wait all day for someone to reply to your post and then they say something ambiguous cause they didn't read the question properly!
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Post by nynaevelan » Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:03 pm

Dale:

Any idea why the sorting is not working??

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:24 pm

when is it not working?
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

Post Reply