Multiple Libraries?

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Multiple Libraries?

Postby emishi » Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:28 pm

It'd be nice to have the ability to have multiple libraries (or individual sessions). I currently have a bunch of tracks that I need to use MM functionality to tag but I do not want them to exist in the with the list of albums that I already have tagged.

I know that you can be selective in what you want to synch but to wade through hundreds/thousands of artists and remember which ones I've already completed tagging.
emishi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:53 pm
Location: The dark side of the Moon

Postby Eyal » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:55 pm

There is an easy way to achieve that.

MediaMonkey library data files are .MDB (Microsoft Access DataBase) files stored in MM\Data folder. By make one or several copies of it, you'll be able to have multiple versions of the database (backups).

First of all, make sure MediaMonkey is closed.
With Explorer, goto the folder that contains MediaMonkey, and do a copy
of the library folder. By example:

    "C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Data"
    copied to
    "C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Data (complete)"
Then open MediaMonkey and scan whatever you want. You can even delete the entire library first (File->Clear Library) if you want, since you have a backup of it.

When you have finished to tag your files, close MM and go back to Explorer. If you don't need the database (library) you just worked on, delete the Data folder. If you want to keep it to work with another time, rename it to something else, like "Data (2005-07-12)"

Rename the folder previously renamed, back to Data:

    "C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Data (complete)"
    renamed to
    "C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Data"


Open MediaMonkey again, and you're back with your original library!

Nice day, isn't it?

Eyal
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].
Eyal
 
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

OK, but...

Postby wricken » Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:04 am

Hi,

this method of renaming the DB files is a HACK. I use MM to access my MP3 files AND to have a list of my CDs. But there is no way to exclude my CDs when searching for a given artist or duplicate titles in the library.

So of course I could use one DB for MP3 and one DB for CDs, but this would not allow to answer the question "do I have the song xy, either as MP3 or on CD?" without restarting MM again. But having MP3s and CDs together in one DB makes it impossible to answer the question "do I have song xy in duplicate" because it will find all duplicates I have in DB because I ripped my own CDs...

So again: Multi-DB would be nice (or the ability to use a filter for DB related operations).

Wilfried
wricken
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 2:02 pm

Postby Lowlander » Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:35 pm

Multiple DB's has been requested. It has gotten a postive feedback from the developers, but probably is not needed for the common use of MM. So it might take a while before the add it.

You could use the My Computer node to organize files before adding them to the DB.

I myself store files that still need editing in a seperate folder on my PC. I then edit them and use auto-organize to send them to their final location. This works well for me.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 37180
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Multiple libraries/databases

Postby Gerben » Thu Jul 28, 2005 5:40 am

I second this motion. It would be nice to be able to store my CD's and my MP3-files in separate databases.

I've heard about other workarounds (making two files and then changing the DB-name in an ini-file), but being able to change within MediaMonkey without trickery (and the risk of mistakes) would be great.
Gerben
 

I Third This Request

Postby AndiMonkey » Mon Aug 01, 2005 1:39 am

I support this request also for its uses in keeping Spoken Word, Podcasts and Music in separate Libraries, without the hassle of restarting MM to change what you're listening for.
AndiMonkey
 

Postby drichm » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:56 am

If multiple libraries are viewed as a non-common thing, and thus have a low implementation priority, then could at least a command line option be added to MM to define the location of MediaMonkey.ini

Then for each .ini file we can define a different DBName= location.

I realise that all MM options (colour, background, device sync et al) will have to be defined anew in each .ini file, but personally I would be prepared to pay that price for multiple library support.
drichm
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby onkel_enno » Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:06 am

You could also install 2 versions of mm, each with a mm.ini in the program-directory which includes the dbpath. Create 2 shortcuts on the desktop and so you can select which library you want to use.
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx
onkel_enno
 
Posts: 2139
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany

mulitple db's

Postby over » Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:24 am

I also would like this option. I feel that there are more people out there who would use this function. I have 2 friends who also use MM. We have talked about this...Audio Books, Christmas, etc. could be put into separate DB's. Hopefully this will happen in time. Thanks.
over
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 3:10 am

Postby STabs » Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:43 am

I would also like a multi db option. I have CD's I track, Ape and Flac files on a USB external drive at home, and mp3's and Ogg(for phone)on my laptop and managing multiple formats and duplicates is a nightmare.

I have tried multiple instances of MM with seperate ini files but they all share the ini file in the default "my music" directory. What am I doing wrong?

Another wish would be to have a zipfile download with only updated files instead of a new full install for every release, is this possible or would this cause problems?

STabs
EAC -> Flac -> MediaMonkey -> Winamp = :-)
STabs
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 2:17 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby rshane91 » Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:15 am

the original question saidyou wanted to use the tagging functionality without adding the songs to your library.

I move the songs (drag and drop from a folder) to the Now Playing window. You can do your tagging from there. Seems to work for me.
rshane91
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:16 pm

Second that...

Postby Sebastian78 » Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:49 am

This would further IMPROVE MM over everything else out there..
Sebastian78
 

Postby emishi » Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:03 pm

Glad to see that this thread has gotten some life to it.
I really thought that it was something that people would like.
emishi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:53 pm
Location: The dark side of the Moon

I agree

Postby pejotu » Thu Oct 13, 2005 12:44 pm

I'm also missing the possibility of having multiple libraries - or at the very least, the library to have sub-categories each with the current nodes under them.
pejotu
 

Postby The One » Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:57 am

I'm using two libraries for some time. I use a batchscript to switch from library.

This is my script. I think it will only work with two libraries, more will be too difficult.

ren MediaMonkey1.mdb MediaMonkey2.mdb
ren MediaMonkey.mdb MediaMonkey1.mdb
ren MediaMonkey2.mdb MediaMonkey.mdb


Place this script in your C:\Documents and Settings\ACCOUNT\My Music\MediaMonkey directory. Name it 'library switch.bat'

Rename your first library to MediaMonkey1.mdb. Start MM. Create your second library. Close MM. You can switch now to your first library and back by running the batchscript. Have phun!!
The One
 

Next

Return to Wishlist (mmw)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests