Question about sorting by alphabetical artist [#18535]

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

Deadcool
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:07 pm

Question about sorting by alphabetical artist [#18535]

Post by Deadcool »

So with most alphabetization I've seen, punctuation (like an apostrophe) takes precedent over an alphabetic character. For example, L'Avenir would come before Ladytron.

However, with MMW5, this doesn't seem to be the case. L'Avenir shows up after LA but before LE (e.g. after Ladytron but before Leonard Cohen).

Is this by design? It seems counterintuitive.
Lowlander
Posts: 53320
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Question about sorting by alphabetical artist

Post by Lowlander »

Which Build (Help > About) of MediaMonkey are you using? For me L'Avenir shows up before lama using the latest 5.0.2 release.
noisebeam
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 11:33 am

Re: Question about sorting by alphabetical artist

Post by noisebeam »

Related to this is there a way to ignore a leading symbol when sorting alphabetically?

For example for the album and song named: 'Round Midnight it would be nice if it sorted with the R's.
Another case an album called: (Détail)
Lowlander
Posts: 53320
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Question about sorting by alphabetical artist

Post by Lowlander »

No, you can ignore prefixes, but this has no space after.
Deadcool
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Question about sorting by alphabetical artist

Post by Deadcool »

Lowlander wrote: Fri Nov 05, 2021 11:41 am Which Build (Help > About) of MediaMonkey are you using? For me L'Avenir shows up before lama using the latest 5.0.2 release.
5.0.2.2516

Here is an example of the display under the Music branch -- https://drive.google.com/file/d/13qVjAE ... sp=sharing

If I sort by Artist, L'Avenir still falls between LA and LE.
Lowlander
Posts: 53320
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Question about sorting by alphabetical artist

Post by Lowlander »

It's a problem with a specific quote character, which is why I didn't see it as I use a different one: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=18535
Lowlander
Posts: 53320
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Question about sorting by alphabetical artist [#18535]

Post by Lowlander »

Can you please try again on 5.0.3.2613 as this problem is no longer reproducible.
Post Reply