Script error

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

danhackley

Script error

Post by danhackley » Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:54 pm

When I try and run any script in Mediamonkey 3, I get the error:
"Error happened during script initialisation: A script engine for the specified language can not be created"

Any ideas ?

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Sat Aug 18, 2007 7:12 am

read the information again in the post you downloaded mm 3 at. 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Blake
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:39 am
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Post by Blake » Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:18 am

rusty wrote:Q) Why don't my scripts work?
A) The database structure has changed from MM 2.x to 3.x. Many scripts will need to be updated.
^^in the MM3 FAQ^^

nojac
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:23 pm
Location: Norway

Post by nojac » Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:15 am

Make sure that all scripts you want to install are really made for MM3 (most of them are NOT!)

And remember that all questions about MM3 should be in the Beta section.

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:20 pm

If nothing helps, then try re-installing the scripting engine, as it might have gotten damaged: http://www.macropool.com/en/download/scripting.html
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

Peke
Posts: 12288
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke » Sat Aug 18, 2007 6:45 pm

Good illegal link ;)
Some Scripting hosts are under genuine:

Windows Script 5.7 WinXP
Windows Script 5.7 Win2003
Windows Script 5.7 Win2000

VBScript Quick Reference
VBScript 5.6 Documentation

Steegy, do you think that this Should also be included in new topic for reference to other scripters?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:01 am

Illegal :o Not in Belgium :P

Links to the scripting runtimes (version 5.6) and the above link can already be found here in the wiki (and in the older forum post here). Of course when the wiki's organization gets better, this probably should get moved to some better place too.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:11 pm

Hmmm windows script 5.7.... that is new... wonder if it will be good or bad to upgrade (knowing microsoft and vista, its hard to guess how they f&%'d up WSH)...

Peke
Posts: 12288
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke » Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:14 pm

Until I see full documentation I'll rather stick to 5.6, I have bought few good eBooks about Advanced Scripting WSH but they handle 5.6 and I really do not see points to go on 5.7 most changes are probably regarding .net, VB and User polices and limited accounts managements regarding vista.

@Steegy
Your links points to Macropool Download links not directly to M$ like in Wiki and Forum you noticed ;) :P 8) :roll: :wink:
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

danhackley

Post by danhackley » Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:05 am

Interesting thoughts guys, thanks. I'll check the MM3-specific scripts.

danhackley
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 6:43 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by danhackley » Fri Aug 31, 2007 7:13 am

Got Magicnodes working thanks, needs the dll registered in the registry (or something), which Vista didnt seem to do automatically.

Post Reply