BPM Adjustment

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey for Windows 4 Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

daveatwinterpegca
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:24 pm
Location: winnipeg,mb
Contact:

BPM Adjustment

Post by daveatwinterpegca »

I have a whole slew of files with the BPMs that are either too fast (by 2x) or too slow (by 2x). This is due to the limitation in the BPM analyzer routines that are being used and errors on my part when entering in a "Base BPM" in Traktor Final Scratch.

I was hoping that there would be an easy way to highlight a set of files and perform a mass change to the BPMs (either multiply or devide) to make them list the current BPM properly.

Is there any specific way this can be accomplished?
daveatwinterpegca
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:24 pm
Location: winnipeg,mb
Contact:

Post by daveatwinterpegca »

I was hoping if someone could revisit my request and perhaps implement. This is the one feature that I have been looking for in any decent player.

Thanks for your time.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

does this link for a script for temp help you.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5593

:) 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
daveatwinterpegca
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:24 pm
Location: winnipeg,mb
Contact:

Post by daveatwinterpegca »

Unfortunately this does not do the trick for me, as I would be looking to update the BPM information while it is reading the BPM Information, So far example, I have a list of BPMS in the Genre of "Crazy Fast" that are all 120bpm - I would like it to be able to rewrite all their BPMS to DOUBLE their amount (or half the amount if so be it)


Does this make any more sense?
jiri
Posts: 5417
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

It should be a pretty simple script, I'm sure someone here can write it.

Jiri
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

daveatwinterpegca wrote:Unfortunately this does not do the trick for me, as I would be looking to update the BPM information while it is reading the BPM Information, So far example, I have a list of BPMS in the Genre of "Crazy Fast" that are all 120bpm - I would like it to be able to rewrite all their BPMS to DOUBLE their amount (or half the amount if so be it)


Does this make any more sense?


seeing as i just got that other script to work in my computer i too now need to have the bpm's adjusted as mine don't have any listed at all ? not even on the mp3 or the wav's let alone all the 99% of my lib. is ogg files and they don't have the bpm either.

so can peke or some one make a script to write in the bpm's on the fly and post them to the ogg mp3 wav mid midi and ther rest of the file formats?

thanks as we are now 2 fold in need of this 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
psyXonova
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:57 am
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Contact:

Post by psyXonova »

Ok, here it is:
Add this to the end of Scripts.ini file:

Code: Select all

[MultiplyBPM]
FileName=MultiplyBPM.vbs
ProcName=MultiplyBPM
Order=1
DisplayName=Multiply BPM
Description=Multiply BPM
Language=VBScript
ScriptType=0
Shortcut=Shift+Alt+B
Add this to a new text file and save as MultiplyBPM.vbs inside the scripts folder:

Code: Select all

' Multiply me
'by psyXonova

Sub MultiplyBPM


' Define variables 
Dim list, itm, i, multiplier

multiplier = inputbox("Enter Multiplier") 

' Get list of selected tracks from MediaMonkey 
Set list = SDB.SelectedSongList 
If list.count=0 Then 
Set list = SDB.AllVisibleSongList 
End If 

' Process all selected tracks 
For i=0 To list.count-1 
Set itm = list.Item(i) 

' Multiply the BPM
itm.BPM = itm.BPM * multiplier

' Update the changes in DB 
itm.UpdateDB 
itm.WriteTags 
Next 

End Sub 
If you enter a multiplier of 0.25 and get a result of original BPM * 25 then replace dot with comma (0,25)

Hot it helps
daveatwinterpegca
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:24 pm
Location: winnipeg,mb
Contact:

Post by daveatwinterpegca »

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

You have just made my year.

I was working on a solution that was going to import the songs table into Excel and then manually run a formula - but this is the ideal solution where I can actually listen to the song and verify that the multiplier change I'm about to make is true.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

-dave
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

you say to enter a multiplyer ?

where would i enter that?

thanks.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
psyXonova
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:57 am
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Contact:

Post by psyXonova »

Install the script and you will see where...
a input dialog pops up to enter the value

Glad i helped....
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

psyxonova wrote:Install the script and you will see where...
a input dialog pops up to enter the value

Glad i helped....
you helped but it did not work on my system i posted the code i got to work in the thread bout the tempo.

but here it is again.

Code: Select all

**************************************************
I put the below script in the script's ini file
change the order number to the number of
scripts you have listed in the ini file.
**************************************************
[MultiplyBPM] 
FileName=MultiplyBPM.vbs 
ProcName=MultiplyBPM 
Order=9 
DisplayName=Multiply BPM 
Description=Multiply BPM 
Language=VBScript 
ScriptType=0 
Shortcut=Shift+Alt+B 


*********************************************

i put the script
below in a text file and  saved it as 
multiplybpm.vbs and put it in the scripts
folder.  this will work with out any 
bpm listed in the properties.
it will add to the bpm each time you 
click on the link in the scripts menu on 
the tools menu in media monkey.
but for somereason the songs have to be
selected for it to work? 

**********************************************

' Multiply me 
'by psyXonova 
'modifiyed for auto running by roving cowboy / keith hall.
Sub MultiplyBPM 


' Define variables 
Dim list, itm, i, multiplier 

multiplier =29

' Get list of selected tracks from MediaMonkey 
Set list = SDB.SelectedSongList 
If list.count=0 Then 
Set list = SDB.AllVisibleSongList 
End If 

' Process all selected tracks 
For i=0 To list.count-1 
Set itm = list.Item(i) 

' Multiply the BPM 
itm.BPM = itm.BPM + 2 * multiplier 

' Update the changes in DB 
itm.UpdateDB 
itm.WriteTags 
Next 

End Sub  
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
surfer
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:55 am

Re: BPM Adjustment

Post by surfer »

Thanks a lot for the script, it works fine for me :)
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: BPM Adjustment

Post by rovingcowboy »

boy you found an old post there surfer. :wink:

found there is a bpm find feature in the free audacity program. you just have to do import of your wav or ogg file or mp3 file which will then make it allow you to use the feature to find the beat.
you don't have to keep save the file again just find what the beat is and close the imported file,
then you can use this above script to add it to the database in monkey.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Post Reply