BPM manually from MM 'on the fly' while listening?

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

surfer
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:55 am

BPM manually from MM 'on the fly' while listening?

Post by surfer » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:46 am

Hi!
Ive read some threads here about Mixmeister for writing BPM.
But i do not want them written automatically for all songs at once. i want to make sure that the BPMs are crrect before they are written to the id3-tag, without errors of the programm because of complex rhythm.

Is a script possible allowing to tap the rhythm manually on my keyboard while listening to the song in MM and writing it in MM? Or maybe does anyone have a good hint how to achieve that?

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by surfer on Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:31 pm

there is a bpm script for media monkey.

it is listed in the all scripts thread and is matched with the tempo script.

there are two versions of the script. one the author did and one i had to fix to work for my win98.

try the author's first if it works for you fine if not then try the one i had to modify.

following instructions for the script by the author you should get it working.
but for what i mod'ed you have to count the beat out. then type it in the song's bpm feild either on the list or on the properties panel.

and you can just click the scripts name in the tools menu for scripts.
and it will add so many bpm for the selected song with each click.

when used with the tempo script the next time you restart media monkey the tempo script will scan the songs bpm field and any that has been changed it will add the proper mood to the tempo field.

i don't know why the authors orginal script would not work in my win98? but my mod was the way i got it working.
8)

hope that is somewhat like your looking for.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

surfer
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:55 am

Post by surfer » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:07 pm

Thanks, but it does not seem to be a script i'm looking for.

I need a script or another solution that shows me the BPM of an actual playing song when i tap the beats on the keyboard.

At the same time or afterwards i want the BPM written to the ID3-tag...either automatically or i can do it manually as well.

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:11 pm

no such script and not sure it's even possible to get any type of accurate timing by clicking a button repeatedly via script.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:12 pm

the bpm script will work on its own and with the tempo.
but i don't think it was to do an automaitc calcalation. i think
the orginal script idea is to assist you in finding the right bpm so you
can type it in manualy.

but your not the only one that has wanted an automatic script or program.
its been asked for before. not sure if there will ever be one? 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

surfer
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:55 am

Post by surfer » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:29 pm

the orginal script idea is to assist you in finding the right bpm so you
can type it in manualy.
how does the script assist me in that?

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:34 pm

that is the part i had trouble working in my win98.

he said to type some number some place and it would put the bpm in upon your typed in number by doing some sort of calculation? but i could
not get it to take any typed in number? so i just moded it to work for me and that shows it was an easy script since as my sig i am not a programmer. and i could mod it.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:27 pm

I've been planning to make a script that does this.. but I've held off because I want the script to do a lot more as well...

I was going to do a quick hack of this:
http://www.all8.com/tools/bpm.htm
and put it in a dockable window but I haven't got the chance...
all it really needs is a bit of code to tell it to write the answer to the currently playing file... should be VERY easy.

someone else care to do it?

Dale.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:35 pm

I also have this one bookmarked...
http://www.exrx.net/Calculators/BeatsMinute.html
which is probably better...

and lastly this.. which is a bit overly complicated but reliable
http://www.dcdancenet.com/toyprograms/bpm.html

I generally use either of the ones in this post as opposed to the previous one,
simply because they've got a specific reset button and everynow and then I've found the other two don't reset properly when they should - giving an inacurate reading... buit most of the time they work fine.

Dale.


ps. I recommend the mod should do is use:
http://www.exrx.net/Calculators/BeatsMinute.html

keep the reset button in there in case people make a mistake
while it could be automated, you could instead just add a save button to save it to the tag.
Also, if the song changes, the calculation should also reset.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:25 pm

someone else care to do it?
Why don't you do it? It'd be a good MM scripting introduction :)

EDIT: Ok, not an introduction... PrettyPictures also uses pretty much VBScript.
Last edited by Steegy on Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:23 am

Because I've got other fish to fry at the moment.. :wink:
It wouldn't be my first script. I'm trying to get back to work on Pretty Pictures atm and do some skins.

but yeah.. if I get a chance.. I will

Dale.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:02 am

okay.. good news and bad news...

THE GOOD NEWS
... I've made the plugin and it works
you can download it here:

http://www.ublik-om.net/software/bpm-tapper
it's called BPMtapper
(also.. please read the "known issues" for another issue not mentioned int his post)


THE BAD NEWS
It will work and show you that the bpm has been set for the file - even if you right click on the file and go to properties it will show the bpm.... HOWEVER... when you then play a different song from the database clearing the now playing.. when you go back to the other song.. the BPM will be gone... I don't know why...

this is the code I'm using to set the BPM (from the html file):

Code: Select all

Dim SDB : Set SDB = CreateObject("SongsDB.SDBApplication")
Dim curSong : Set curSong = SDB.Player.CurrentSong

curSong.BPM = value

If skip Then
	SDB.Player.Next()
End If 

Set curSong = Nothing
Set SDB = Nothing
is this incorrect or is that an actually error in setting the BPM via script on Medimonkey's side?

Dale.
Last edited by DaledeSilva on Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

surfer
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:55 am

Post by surfer » Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:42 am

Thanks for your work and the plugin!

Some notes on it:

When i tap the BPM and save it, it is retained when i afterwards open and close the properties for the song: this is because after closeing properties by clickinn on "OK" they are written to the tag, i think.

Probably the songs on the "Now playing" list are still not in the library that's why the BPM disappears when the song is removed from now playing.


tha solution would be to write to the ID3-Tag by the script instead to the library field.
But how to achieve that?

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:52 am

After "curSong.BPM = value", you still have to save the changes to the database (and to the file itself).

Using

Code: Select all

curSong.BPM = value
curSong.UpdateDB
curSong.WriteTags
the script should work as you want it.

Cheers
Steegy
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Sat Feb 17, 2007 9:53 pm

thanks Steegy, that worked... I've now release v1.0 and it's uploaded on my site here: http://www.ublik-om.net/software/bpm-tapper

I've also started a thread for it here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15474

since the previous release I've fixed that non-saving issue and now when you check "skip song on save" it automatically skips 10% into the next song - which is much more efficient.

Dale.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

Post Reply