Distributed (instead of Shuffled) in Playlists

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey for Windows 4? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

greggw

Distributed (instead of Shuffled) in Playlists

Post by greggw »

I would like to suggest adding the option to create a playlist where artists (or albums) would be distributed instead of shuffled randomly. I think many people who use music players are disappointed when they hear the same artist (or songs from the same album) close together in a playlist that has been shuffled. It's human nature to blame the list (or the music player) for not being "random".

I'm new to MediaMonkey, so I apologize if this has already been discussed. I performed a search and found at least two topics related to my idea:

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10757
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10559

When music listeners ask for a shuffled playlist, I think what they really want is a playlist where songs from the same artist (or album) are distributed in a random manner throughout the playlist.

Here's what I mean: Imagine a playlist with 100 songs. Of the 100 songs, 10 are by the same artist. A distributed playlist would contain a song by that artist, on average, every tenth song. There would be some randomness -- the songs by that artist would appear in a random order and there might be 9 or 11 songs in between songs by the artist, but you wouldn't get two songs in a row by the same artist.

A playlist created in this manner might be distributed by artist or by album. In other words, you could avoid having consecutive songs by the same artist or from the same album.

I picture the algorithm for creating distributed playlists to work something like this: