Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by Big_Berny » Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:12 pm

Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

This script adds a button to the toolbar where you can easily enable, disable or cache last.fm submissions if you use the Last.fm Scrobbler Plug-in v1.0.2.5 and above

It looks like this:
Image
Green: Tracks you listen will be submitted immediately.
Yellow: Tracks you listen will be cached untill you enable submissions again (green) - then all listened tracks will be submitted at once.
Red: Tracks will not be submitted.

The cache-feature is very useful if you also submit plays from your ipod. Because if you submit a track on the pc before submitting the (oldeR) ipod plays they will be blocked by last.fm's spamprotection and can't be submitted anymore. With cache enabled it will pause the submissions and submit them later when you want to enable it again after submitting the ipod plays.

Download: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Changelog 1.0.1:
-Changed: Replaced (ugly) icons with a lot nicer ones. Thanks to nohitter for creating them! :D

Hope someone likes it! :)
Big_Berny

PS: I don't have time at the moment to develope it any further because of my exams. So please be patient.
Last edited by Big_Berny on Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton - Enable, disable or cache submissions

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:00 am

Thanks Big_Berny* (sorry about that, it was late last night!), great idea!

I hope you don't mind me sharing but I wanted to change the icons a little, mine look like this:
Image

If anyone else wants to try I made an installer for the buttons. (You have to install Bex's script first, then use the icon installer below. The icons will only change after you've restarted MM.)
[Link removed icons now included in script]
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton - Enable, disable or cache submissions

Post by Big_Berny » Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:19 am

Hi nohitter,
first I'm Big_Berny and not Bex - I hope that's not a problem. ;)

Very cool icons by the way. :) Would you mind if I add them to the script directly? The only 'problem' is that your icons aren't transpant (there's a white background), could you change that?

Big_Berny
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

Peke
Posts: 12501
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton - Enable, disable or cache submissions

Post by Peke » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:21 am

@Big_Berny
I have made changes for you. DL them from here.

If you allow I was thinking to make something Similar in native plugin after submissions prove to be stable?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton - Enable, disable or cache submissions

Post by Big_Berny » Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:34 am

The server seems to be down, so I'll have to try later on.

But surely you can add these things to the plugin. :) Native is always better (for example I have to use a little 'bypass' to cache submissions).
I just wrote this script because I needed this feature. :)

Big_Berny
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton - Enable, disable or cache submissions

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:07 am

Big_Berny wrote:Hi nohitter,
first I'm Big_Berny and not Bex - I hope that's not a problem. ;)

Very cool icons by the way. :) Would you mind if I add them to the script directly? The only 'problem' is that your icons aren't transpant (there's a white background), could you change that?

Big_Berny
My mistake - so sorry about that! My only excuse is that it was late last night when I posted that :P

Please feel free to put them directly in the script. For some reason MM can only use 8-bit icons with scripts so its a bit challenging to make them with transparency so that they look good, but I'll try to anyhow.

EDIT:
Updated icons:
Image

[Link removed icons now included in script]
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton - Enable, disable or cache submissions

Post by Big_Berny » Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:16 pm

Thanks a lot nohitter, they look great!!! :D

Just added them to the script! :) Maybe you could remove the links to the icon-insalle so nobody get's confused?

Thanks again! :)
Big_Berny
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton - Enable, disable or cache submissions

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:37 pm

Big_Berny wrote:Thanks a lot nohitter, they look great!!! :D

Just added them to the script! :) Maybe you could remove the links to the icon-insalle so nobody get's confused?

Thanks again! :)
Big_Berny
My pleasure, and thanks to you again for the script. Works great!
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

gege
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by gege » Sun Dec 14, 2008 4:21 pm

Hi, Big_Berny
I didn't test this script yet, but it looks like it will be extremely useful for me.

I currently use LastPod to submit tracks played in my iPod. Unfortunately I often forget to submit the iPod plays BEFORE start playing something in MM with Last.FM plugin enabled (exactly as you described in first post). So, this cached mode will come in handy.

But I have a question: what will happen if I play, say, 5 tracks in iPod, 5 more in MM (with cached mode ON), then 10 more in iPod, and finally 10 more in MM (still in cached mode), and then submit iPod and MM plays? Some of the plays will be "lost", right?
Last edited by gege on Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by Big_Berny » Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:17 pm

Hi gege,
yes, I also lastpod, that's why I wrote this little script. :)

About your question: Yes some will be lost.

Your example:
5x iPod
5x MM (cached)
10x iPod
10x MM (cached)

If you now submit the ipod plays first and afterwards the MM plays (by enabling submission again) these should be submitted:
5x iPod
5x MM (cached) <-- These not, because newer iPod plays were submitted before (below)
10x iPod
10x MM (cached) <-- These yes, because they were played after the last ipod play (above)

If you submit the MM plays first and then the ipod plays with lastpod:
5x iPod <-- These not, because newer MM plays were submitted before (below)
5x MM (cached)
10x iPod <-- These not, because newer MM plays were submitted before (below)
10x MM (cached)

The only possibility is to submit all plays is to add a feature to MediaMonkey so that it submits the cached plays when synching your ipod - so that it merges the two playhistories together. Winamp is able to do that but unfortunately MM isn't able yet to submit ipod plays.
OR a script which accesses the ipod-database and writes the plays to MM's cache-file. Maybe something like this could be possible... But probably it then could only import single tracks one time - also if they have been played multiple times (due to ipod-design).
OR a new feature for lastpod so that it writes the values into MM's cache-file. This would maybe be the easiest way... Unfortunately I don't know java yet and it's written in this language.

Maybe I'll find a solution but not this week. In 14 hours I have the first exams... :S

Big_Berny
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

gege
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by gege » Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:26 pm

Big_Berny wrote:About your question: Yes some will be lost.
:(
The only possibility is to submit all plays is to add a feature to MediaMonkey so that it submits the cached plays when synching your ipod - so that it merges the two playhistories together. Winamp is able to do that but unfortunately MM isn't able yet to submit ipod plays.
Native support in MM would be great, IMO
Maybe I'll find a solution but not this week. In 14 hours I have the first exams... :S
Good luck! :wink:

Peke
Posts: 12501
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by Peke » Sun Dec 14, 2008 7:46 pm

Something like you two are describing is on my to-do for future versions of plugin when MM get optimized Sync playcounter feature.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

gege
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by gege » Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:09 pm

Peke wrote:Something like you two are describing is on my to-do for future versions of plugin when MM get optimized Sync playcounter feature.
:D

Peke
Posts: 12501
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by Peke » Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:10 pm

@Big_Berny
Just to let you know that Cache only feature is added to plugin To-Do
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Last.fm QuickButton 1.0.1

Post by Big_Berny » Thu Dec 25, 2008 11:52 am

Thanks, that's cool! :)
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

Post Reply